Fostering Growth

Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.

  • Aspects: South Dublin

South Dublin County Council

Before 1994, the local authority responsible for the areas outside the immediate city of Dublin was Dublin County Council. With the Local Government (Dublin) Act, 1993, Dublin County Council was replaced with three administrative counties: Fingal, Dun Laoghaire and South Dublin.

On 1 January 1994, South Dublin County Council was established to make local authority services better for the people of South Dublin and help to coordinate the proper growth, planning and development of the area. An example of the fruits of this planning is the Clondalkin Civic Centre, as shown in the picture above.

Evolving Communities

South County Dublin covers an area of approximately 223 square kilometres. The county stretches southwards from the River Liffey to the Wicklow border, and from Dublin City westwards to the Kildare border.

South Dublin contains within its boundaries a mixture of urban settlements, rural hinterlands, established suburbs and evolving communities. Belgard reservoir, pictured to the left, is a fine example of a city responding to internal growth with new facilities.