The Irish Free State was the name of the Irish State from 1922 to 1937. Free-Staters were the faction of Sinn Féin and the I.R.A. in favour of the Anglo-Irish Treaty and who dominated the political arena and established the Provisional Government in 1922.

By permission of Oxford University Press

Connolly, S.J. (Ed.) The Oxford Companion to Irish History Oxford , O.U.P., 2nd Edition, 2002