Newbridge House

Newbridge House is a beautiful 18th-century manor, filled with original furniture and boasting one of the finest Georgian interiors in Ireland. It is situated just outside Donabate. The house was built for Archbishop Dr. Charles Cobbe on lands he purchased in 1736. The architecture of the house has been attributed to George Semple (1700-1782) and to the Scottish architect, James Gibbs (1682-1754). Thomas Cobbe, son of the archbishop, inherited Newbridge house in 1765 and added the large drawing room in the rear of the building which retains an ornate Rococo- style plaster work ceiling by Robert West (c 1790). Newbridge House was the family home of the Cobbe family for several generations before it was acquired by Dublin County Council in 1985. The County Council undertook an extensive programme of renovation, reconstruction and restoration of the House to return it to its 18th century eminence prior to its opening in 1986.

The grounds at Newbridge, which extend to approx. 360 acres are one of the finest examples of an 18th-century landscape to be found in Ireland. They were developed in the style of the English Landscape movement of which Lancelot Brown was the most famous exponent.

The square and cobbled courtyard adjoining the House was designed by Robert Mack and built about 1790. It has been restored and opened as a museum of the late 18th-century rural life. The courtyard has contains: a dairy, carpenters shop, forge, stables and a labourers cottage all of which have been fitted out with original tools, implements and furniture. The Stable House contains the magnificent Lord Chancellors Carriage on loan from the National Museum, which is regarded as one of the most beautiful pieces of carriage work ever executed. The coffee shop is located in the courtyard.

The grounds of Newbridge House also boast a children's playground and picnic area.

previousPrevious - Malahide Castle
Next - Office Block, Blanchardstownnext