The Coliseum

On the 2nd May 1910 a new skating rink was built at Adelphi Quay. Rink Hockey was a very popular sport in Waterford at this time. However in 1912 the business began to decline and the rink was closed. The Animated Picture Co. took over the business in 1913 and opened Waterford's first cinema which was known as 'The Rink Picture Palace'. The name was later changed to 'The Coliseum' or 'The Col' as it was affectionately known in Waterford. The Coliseum was unique during the 1930s and 1940s in that it had a manageress rather than a manager.

previousPrevious - Waterford Cinemas
Next - The Theatre Royalnext