Geography of County Carlow

Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.

  • Aspects of Carlow

Snug in Leinster

Carlow is situated in the province of Leinster, in the South-East of Ireland. It lies inland and has no coastline.

Carlow is the second-smallest county in Ireland, measuring just 896 square kilometres in area. It is bordered by five other counties: Laois, Kildare, Wicklow, Wexford and Kilkenny.

The town of Carlow is the largest in the county and is home to around 40% of Co. Carlow's population. Other towns are Bagenalstown (Muine Bheag), Borris, Hacketstown, Leighlinbridge, Rathvilly and Tullow.