Lackagh Bridge, Creeslough

Another Wray project was the construction of Lackagh Bridge at Drumlackagh near Creeslough in 1750 at a cost of £207.16.0; it was still worthy of mention by Lt William Lancey of the Ordnance Survey team in 1834: "The principal bridge is that thrown over the Lackagh (river). It is well built, of 1 arch, and was paid for by the county."

Lancy also remarked on a rather unusual feature in this townland. The Clochnabogaddy or 'shuggling stone', is a large chunk of granite and black mica "so delicately poised that the little finger of the left hand applied to its eastern end moves it with the utmost ease through its whole arc of about 3 inches."

Locally there are many stories concerning the rock. Ainmire, king of Aileach at the time of Colmcille levied a tax on his subjects. A young man named Eamann was sent by his aunt Meabh to pay the tax, but showed the money to his lover Teathra, who persuaded him to keep it. When Ainmire's men came to Maebh to collect the tax she revealed to them what had happened. Eamann, however, denied all knowledge of it. Colmcille heard the argument and prohesied that the one who had lied would speak no more. With that moment Eamann was turned into the Cloghnabogaddy stone and on her return home, Meabh found the money. Colmcille stated that as Eamann had yielded so easily to temptation, so would the stone yield to every little impulse.

This picturesque little bridge and its surrounding area is a favourite spot for both artists and anglers and is close to Doe Castle, the stronghold of the MacSweeneys. Extensive renovations were carried out by Donegal County Council in 1974. Today this 200-year-old bridge is still very much in service, carrying local and tourist traffic into Carrigart, Downings and the Rosguill peninsula.

previousPrevious - Road Works Ahead