Aspects of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown

Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.

  • Aspects of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown

Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown was set up as a result of the Local Government Act 1993, which dissolved Dublin County Council and created 3 new Local Authorities: Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin.

Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown is located between the outer suburbs of Dublin City and the Dublin/Wicklow Mountains on the East Coast of Ireland. That would explain the motto on the coat of arms for the county which reads 'Ó Chuan go Sliabh'. This roughly means 'Between the Mountains and the Sea'.


According to the census in 2006, the population for the whole county of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown is 194,038. Oddly, there are far more females than males living in the county. Of the 194,038 population, the figures show that there are 8,240 more women than men.

Population growth in Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown has continued to slow down over the past few years. It experienced only a 1.2% (2,246) rise in population between 2002 and 2006. In 2002, it had a 4.9% share of Ireland's total population but by 2006, that figure fell to just 4.57%.