Upload to this page

Add your photos, text, videos, etc. to this page.


There are three types of deer found in Ireland. These are the Red Deer, Fallow Deer and Sika Deer. The native Red Deer is Ireland’s largest land mammal.

Male deer are called 'stags' and female deer 'hinds'. Young deer are called 'calves'. Only the males have antlers. These are U-shaped. During the summer, the deer's coat is a deep chestnut-red colour. In winter, the coat turns to a dull brown colour.

Deer eat early in the morning and late in the evening. They rest during the day.

Deer usually live in woodlands, open hill areas and grasslands.

Do you want to know more about the Red Deer ?

Here are some quick facts.  

  • Largest Irish land mammal
  • Lives up to 15 years
  • Has a very short tail
  • Males have U-shaped antlers
  • Has a red-brown coat with cream colour under the belly
  • Its hoof tracks are shaped like pair of slippers